What Is ECA Category?

Are you curious to know what is ECA category? You have come to the right place as I am going to tell you everything about ECA category in a very simple explanation. Without further discussion let’s begin to know what is ECA category?

ECA stands for Emissions Control Area. The ECA category refers to a designation of a geographical area where strict controls are placed on emissions from ships and other vessels. These areas are established by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) to reduce the impact of shipping on the environment and human health. In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at what the ECA category is and how it works.

What Is ECA Category?

The ECA category is a designation given to geographical areas where the International Maritime Organization (IMO) has implemented strict regulations on emissions from ships and other vessels. The purpose of these regulations is to reduce the environmental impact of shipping and protect the health of people living in designated areas.

The IMO established the first ECA in the Baltic Sea in 2006, and since then, several other ECAs have been established, including the North Sea, the North American ECA, and the US Caribbean ECA. Ships entering these areas are required to comply with strict emissions limits for sulfur oxide (SOx), nitrogen oxide (NOx), and particulate matter (PM).

How Does The ECA Category Work?

The ECA category works by establishing strict emissions limits for ships and other vessels operating within the designated areas. These limits are based on the fuel used by the vessel, the size and type of the vessel’s engine, and the vesshttps://education.nationalgeographic.org/resource/area/el’s age. The goal is to reduce the emissions of SOx, NOx, and PM, which can have harmful effects on the environment and human health.

Ships and other vessels entering the ECA must use fuels with a lower sulfur content, which can be achieved by using low-sulfur fuels or installing exhaust gas cleaning systems (scrubbers) to remove pollutants from the exhaust gases. The regulations also require ships to maintain detailed records of their fuel consumption and emissions, which are monitored by port authorities and other regulatory bodies.

Why Is The ECA Category Important?

The ECA category is important bECAuse it helps to reduce the impact of shipping on the environment and human health. Shipping is a significant source of air pollution, and emissions from ships can contribute to a range of environmental problems, including acid rain, smog, and climate change.

By implementing strict emissions regulations in designated areas, the ECA category helps to reduce these harmful effects and promote sustainable shipping practices. It also helps to create a level playing field for shipping companies, as all vessels operating in the designated areas must comply with the same emissions limits.


The ECA category is an important designation that helps to reduce the environmental impact of shipping and protect the health of people living in designated areas. By implementing strict emissions regulations, the ECA category promotes sustainable shipping practices and helps to create a level playing field for shipping companies. As awareness of the environmental impact of shipping continues to grow, it is likely that the ECA category will become even more important in the years to come.

If you want to know about similar topics click here Cuttwebs


Who Can Apply For The ECA Category?

To be considered in an ECA category, the candidate must have scored a minimum of 30 marks out of 75 ECA scores, DU added.

What Are The ECA Categories At Du?

ECA admissions are available under 14 categories: creative writing, dance, debate, digital media, fine arts, music (vocal), music (instrumental: Indian), music (instrumental: western), theatre, quiz, NCC, NSS, and, yoga, along with several subcategories.

How Is ECA Admission Done?

There will be no physical trials for admission for the NCC and the NSS categories. The ECA score in these cases will be awarded on the basis of certificates. A combined score of the Common University Entrance Test (UG) 2022 and performance tests, trials, and certificates will be considered for seat allocation.

How Many Seats Are There For ECA In Du?

The University of Delhi has issued the extra-curricular activities (ECA), sports, and CW quota round-1 allocation lists for admission to undergraduate (UG) programs. Admission to 14 ECA category seats will now be made on the basis of these lists. The ECA category seats are divided into sub-categories.

Is There Any Sports Quota In DU?

For admission under the ECA or sports quota, a candidate’s CUET score will get 25% weightage, while their certificates, trials and performances will get 75% weightage, read DU’s bulletin of information.

What Are The Categories Of Eca?

There are 14 activities through which ECA admissions take place: Creating writing (Hindi and English); Dance (Indian Classical, Indian Folk, Western, Choreography); Debate (Hindi and English); Digital Media (photography, film Making, animation); Fine Arts (sketching and painting, sculpture); Music-Vocal (Indian, …

I Have Covered All The Following Queries And Topics In The Above Article

What Is ECA Category

What Is ECA Category In Du Form

What Is ECA Category